Quarantine Pedalboard Project

Moderator: Ghost Hip

Quarantine Pedalboard Project

Postby Benn Roe » Sun Nov 29, 2020 12:40 am

So, over the last few months I've been building this board from scratch.

Guitar Board.jpg

I have no experience building much of anything, and I'm sure I did lots of stuff the stupid or slow way, but I'm pretty happy with how it turned out. If I were starting again, I'd have done the tolex a little differently. It's definitely a little sloppy. Overall, though, I think I did okay. I figured I'd document the building process somewhat, in case anyone was interested.

I've needed this board for a long time, but thankfully my last few bands have worked really, really slowly, so I've been able to take my time figuring out the best way to go about getting the right sized board. Active work on the project began a few months ago with this craigslist score:

1 Case (small).jpg

I had long-since settled on building the board myself, but first I wanted to find a big enough case so I could build to fit a case I knew existed. This was some DJ's gig box, so it was segmented inside and unevenly padded, and I spent a day or two ripping all that garbage out. I wish I had taken pictures of that process, but I didn't. It was frustrating and time-consuming because I didn't have any idea what tools to use. The case still has a few holes on the outside that I'll ultimately need to plug, since I won't be using the board while it's inside the case, just transporting it as such. That's another project. It measures around 45" x 18" on the outside.
Last edited by Benn Roe on Sun Nov 29, 2020 12:48 am, edited 1 time in total.
Former Bands: Lazy Gaga, Kadis-kot, Pyramids, In First Person, the Holy Fucking Spirit, Take Down Your Art, A Petal Fallen
Benn Roe

experienced
experienced

Re: Quarantine Pedalboard Project

Postby Benn Roe » Sun Nov 29, 2020 12:44 am

The board began with a single piece of pine, from which I cut all four sides of the frame.