keeping your skills sharp when you're not playing much

Moderator: Ghost Hip

keeping your skills sharp when you're not playing much

Postby friendship » Fri Nov 17, 2017 12:03 pm

I haven't been playing guitar much this year; everything I do sounds hack and boring. My skills are getting noticeably rusty as a result. I've been playing other instruments, but guitar is my main instrument and I don't want to lose whatever skill I have on it. But when I pick it up, I just feel like everything's been done before, by others, and far better. I guess I feel kind of jaded with it? I've been playing for about 20 years so I guess that's understandable.

Anyway, what do you do when playing your main instrument is on the back burner and you're starting to not be as good anymore? Do you make time to practice even when you're not inspired? Do you heed the call of the mastodon and continue investing more time in your other instruments, with the faith that you'll circle back around to guitar and rebuild your strengths again?
sound journal

actualidiot wrote:12-bit's almost analog, right?
friendship

IAMILFFAMOUS
IAMILFFAMOUS

Re: keeping your skills sharp when you're not playing much

Postby goroth » Fri Nov 17, 2017 12:06 pm

Yes.

In as many words.

Because if my technique is sitting well then I enjoy playing more, or at least get less frustrated.
I go through phases of writing a lot of my own stuff, but also every now and then learning someone else's shit. That helps, mixing it up.
ALLisNOISE wrote:you can dial in some wonderfully smeared 12bit cascades of cicadas leveling a hail of rockets against an army of rusty box fans!

Latest album out on all streaming services and bandcamp and what not.
Spotify /// Apple Music
My band /// Instagram ///Bandcamp ///
goroth

HERO
HERO

Postby Chankgeez » Fri Nov 17, 2017 12:10 pm

I've been playing lap steel much more than regular guitar lately and I'm starting to lose the calluses on my fretting hand. :(