silent recording



Moderator: Ghost Hip

silent recording

Postby greenmario » Sun May 13, 2018 4:21 pm

Wise and good people of ILF, does anyone do silent recording (direct, might be the word). Was thinking of something I could put after my amp (load box?) and run that to my USB interface for my computer. I have an Apogee ONE for a USB interface and do most demos with Garageband. Would be extra sweet if this theoretical box I'm after could attenuate and let me get some amp break up, but not a must. When I run my pedals into the Apogee ONE it all sounds super harsh and not my bag. Any help appreciated, even telling me I'm a dingus and this has been discussed a bunch of times.
greenmario

User avatar
involved
involved
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2016 6:57 pm

Re: silent recording

Postby Nateispro » Sun May 13, 2018 5:38 pm

I have a baby on the way and needed to get used to silent recording. I picked up a two notes captor. It's a load box and has a Balanced and Unbalanced output to send to a mixer or computer interface. Depending on your amp is what ohm load you should get. They offer it in a 4 8 and 16 Ohm load. It has a built in speaker emulator but I am not a fan of it. It's easier to use speaker IR's to simulate a cab and sounds much better IMO. I hope this helps some!
Turn Up Tune Down Rock Out

Good deals: Holy Schnikes
Nateispro

User avatar
committed
committed
 
Posts: 221
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2014 2:14 am
Location: Ut

Re: silent recording

Postby greenmario » Sun May 13, 2018 9:27 pm

Nateispro wrote:I have a baby on the way and needed to get used to silent recording. I picked up a two notes captor. It's a load box and has a Balanced and Unbalanced output to send to a mixer or computer interface. Depending on your amp is what ohm load you should get. They offer it in a 4 8 and 16 Ohm load. It has a built in speaker emulator but I am not a fan of it. It's easier to use speaker IR's to simulate a cab and sounds much better IMO. I hope this helps some!


I checked this out and it looks like it could be perfect. Sounds like I could get speaker IRs through Wall of Sound that work with Garageband. Are you liking it so far? Do you wish there were other attenuator options than -20db or 0?
greenmario

User avatar
involved
involved
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2016 6:57 pm

Re: silent recording

Postby DrMabuse » Wed May 16, 2018 8:10 am

Yamaha THR10 is worth a look for low/no volume as well. If you use it as an audio interface, you can record the amp'd signal on one track and the dry on another. The amp sounds aren't bad, and they've worked better for me than running a string of pedals into an interface. Run the dry (pedal only) signal into one of the virtual amps in Garageband and mix in to taste.

It's also a great little practice amp at low volume and can run off batteries. Run your phone into the aux input with a drum machine app, find someone busking Jack Johnson covers on an acoustic, and siphon off all their listeners with your sweet techno-doom.
DrMabuse

User avatar
interested
interested
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 4:03 am

Re: silent recording

Postby coldbrightsunlight » Thu May 17, 2018 4:19 pm

I do a lot of direct recording, just guitar - interface.

Add a cab (and amp, if that's your thing) simulator VST to the recording. This simulates the cab frequency response (and the pre/power amp if you want) which removes the harshness of direct to recording pre-amp guitar. I do plenty of stuff like this that I'm perfectly happy with for records.
Good deals with: AngryGoldfish, Officer Bukowski, casterbro, amnesiac305, Achtane, Snufkino, Tom Dalton, DarkAxel, JamesSGBrown, casperh7, Tristan, intothegroove, Gigahearts_FX, alalalkasar, nightterrors, Schlatte, Dandolin, jskadiang, laekna, biftaclyro, maortojn, oscillateur

some Swedish dude wrote:Hitler is #1 soy duck


I make music sometimes:

https://mediocrisy.bandcamp.com/releases
coldbrightsunlight

User avatar
Supporter
Supporter
 
Posts: 7880
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 12:20 pm
Location: UK

Re: silent recording

Postby voerking » Tue Jun 05, 2018 1:40 pm

coldbrightsunlight wrote:I do a lot of direct recording, just guitar - interface.

Add a cab (and amp, if that's your thing) simulator VST to the recording. This simulates the cab frequency response (and the pre/power amp if you want) which removes the harshness of direct to recording pre-amp guitar. I do plenty of stuff like this that I'm perfectly happy with for records.


also, these tracks could later be re-amped, if desired.

i like doing this less because i can't make loud noises, but because i despise pedal clicking sounds (my space is small, so i can't effectively isolate the amp from the room where i'm clicking switches), so i record things direct, then send them out to a mic'd up amp before mixing.
voerking

User avatar
experienced
experienced
 
Posts: 687
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 10:07 am
Location: Saint Louis

Re: silent recording

Postby coldbrightsunlight » Fri Jun 08, 2018 5:39 pm

Yeah I'd quite like to get into re-amping. Definitely in my mind.
Good deals with: AngryGoldfish, Officer Bukowski, casterbro, amnesiac305, Achtane, Snufkino, Tom Dalton, DarkAxel, JamesSGBrown, casperh7, Tristan, intothegroove, Gigahearts_FX, alalalkasar, nightterrors, Schlatte, Dandolin, jskadiang, laekna, biftaclyro, maortojn, oscillateur

some Swedish dude wrote:Hitler is #1 soy duck


I make music sometimes:

https://mediocrisy.bandcamp.com/releases
coldbrightsunlight

User avatar
Supporter
Supporter
 
Posts: 7880
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 12:20 pm
Location: UK

Re: silent recording

Postby moid » Sun Jun 10, 2018 6:33 pm

I often record a dry track and play that back into different pedal setups / settings and record each one and then blend between them in the DAW to get the exact sound I want. I rarely record from my amplifier because I don't have great microphones and my amplifier is nothing amazing. Seems to work for my son and I, but most of our recordings aren't fiercely intense rock music.
moid

User avatar
committed
committed
 
Posts: 380
Joined: Sun May 03, 2015 6:35 pm

Re: silent recording

Postby Ugly Nora » Wed Jun 20, 2018 7:24 pm

moid wrote:I often record a dry track and play that back into different pedal setups / settings and record each one and then blend between them in the DAW to get the exact sound I want. I rarely record from my amplifier because I don't have great microphones and my amplifier is nothing amazing. Seems to work for my son and I, but most of our recordings aren't fiercely intense rock music.


Can someone please help me with this? I am trying to do this but am getting feedback and I don't understand why.

I recorded a track into my DAW, and I am trying to run it out through my Focusrite Clarett audio interface to some guitar pedals, to play through my amp, and then record that via a microphone back into the daw. I get sound and all that, and it goes through the pedals, and can record it back into the DAW. But, what I don't understand is why am I getting feedback into the amp/mic? Here is the exact flow of what I am doing:
DAW>Audio Interface out> Behringer sub mixer>pedals>amp>microphone>Allen & Heath main mixer>Audio Interface in>DAW
What is causing the feedback? :?:Is it just that a level somewhere on something is too hot? Or is there something inherently wrong with my workflow/setup? There are no other live mics or speakers on at the time.

I mean would it be better to just skip the mic/amp and just plug the pedals back into the into my Allen Heath mixer or my Focusrite audio interface? I guess that is an option I just thought about when typing this, but I would still like to know what I am doing wrong as I am sure I would like to use the amp/mic in some circumstances at least for whatever color it is providing.

Thanks

Nora
Ugly Nora

User avatar
IAMILFFAMOUS
IAMILFFAMOUS
 
Posts: 3228
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: Shermer, Illinois

Re: silent recording

Postby Dr. Sherman Sticks M.D. » Wed Jun 20, 2018 7:42 pm

w/o really knowing exactly what u are doing. my first guess would be the microphone. take that out and see if the feedback is still there.

my next guess would be some routing setting in your DAW potentially. maybe you are outputting to interface out and to main out (to speakers) and then inputting back in to main out again?
or something like that.

would just try isolating one thing at a time until it goes away. :idk:
Dr. Sherman Sticks M.D.

User avatar
IAMILFFAMOUS
IAMILFFAMOUS
 
Posts: 3864
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2007 8:01 pm
Location: rochester, ny

Re: silent recording

Postby Ugly Nora » Wed Jun 20, 2018 9:05 pm

Thanks. Yeah, my DAW speakers weren't on, so that is out of the equation. It is just confusing to me, because from my perspective, the sound path is exactly the same except that instead of the sound source being an sp404, the sound source is now the track being played from the DAW. So I dont understand why all of a sudden the mic feedbacks. I'll have to look at it when I have more time I guess.

This is why I dont record stuff and make long songs, moid.
Ugly Nora

User avatar
IAMILFFAMOUS
IAMILFFAMOUS
 
Posts: 3228
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: Shermer, Illinois

Re: silent recording

Postby Dr. Sherman Sticks M.D. » Wed Jun 20, 2018 9:26 pm

in my experience, its usually something really dumb that i am overlooking in these situations.

if i'm reading u correctly, the same chain w/ the SP at the source = no feedback
same chain w/ DAW track at the source = feedback

definitely would look at your DAW I/O routing again . what program are u using?

like maybe u are outputting your source track, then inputting the sound back into the DAW and that is going out the same outs back into your chain again?
that sounds like a feedback loop to me if thats the case.
Dr. Sherman Sticks M.D.

User avatar
IAMILFFAMOUS
IAMILFFAMOUS
 
Posts: 3864
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2007 8:01 pm
Location: rochester, ny

Re: silent recording

Postby Ugly Nora » Thu Jun 21, 2018 6:38 am

Correct, same chain, no feedback with the sp404. Only gets feedback when DAW is the source.

I'm using Studio One 3.5. I'll check the I/O routing again, but it seemed pretty straightforward so I m not sure what I could have messed up, but who knows. Thanks again.
Ugly Nora

User avatar
IAMILFFAMOUS
IAMILFFAMOUS
 
Posts: 3228
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: Shermer, Illinois

Re: silent recording

Postby Dr. Sherman Sticks M.D. » Thu Jun 21, 2018 12:32 pm

good luck!
w/o actually being there i can only guess as to whats going on.

don't assume everything is okay. take a step back & think it through.
maybe try a simpler setup first w/ the DAW and go from there.
can u just go from DAW out back in to interface and record w/o feedback?
if so then add another piece one by one until u get your feedback.

this will help u eliminate or identify certain aspects as the problem.

sometimes drawing a diagram helps me visualize whats supposed to be what.
Dr. Sherman Sticks M.D.

User avatar
IAMILFFAMOUS
IAMILFFAMOUS
 
Posts: 3864
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2007 8:01 pm
Location: rochester, ny

Re: silent recording

Postby Ugly Nora » Fri Jun 22, 2018 10:09 am

Ok, so I found a good tutorial about this in Studio One, and I was missing something. Apparently, when routing to outboard gear, I have to insert an "effect" called Pipeline which has some routing options I need to configure. I didn't know about this and was previously only messing with the main routing options.

I haven't tested this out yet, but I assume this is the issue. Thanks again for your help.
Ugly Nora

User avatar
IAMILFFAMOUS
IAMILFFAMOUS
 
Posts: 3228
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: Shermer, Illinois

Next

Return to Tech & Recording



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


Sponsored Ad. (Please no inflated/repetitive clicking. Thanks!)

Advertisements help support ILF


ilovefuzz.com is not responsible for user-submitted content. Users participate at their own discretion and risk.