silent recording



Moderator: Ghost Hip

Re: silent recording

Postby ognoy » Sat Jun 23, 2018 7:06 am

How many outputs do you have?
If only two, do this:
-Pan the track that is going out to pedals/amps all the way left.
-Pan the new, reampe, track all the way to the right.
ognoy

User avatar
experienced
experienced
 
Posts: 816
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2013 5:33 pm
Location: Bergen, Norway

Re: silent recording

Postby Ugly Nora » Sat Jun 23, 2018 10:19 am

I have 4 total line outputs, 2 of which go to the monitors, so I have 2 free. Ima try this stuff out later today. :thumb:
Ugly Nora

User avatar
IAMILFFAMOUS
IAMILFFAMOUS
 
Posts: 3234
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: Shermer, Illinois

Re: silent recording

Postby moid » Thu Jun 28, 2018 7:09 pm

Whoops I missed this, it's been a dreadful week :( Ugly Nora, I have to set up the DI to re amp successfully at home or I get howling feedback noise and not much else. On the DI box I use I have Outputs for monitors (like yours) and also a headphone socket output. If I want to send sound out from my PC via the output sockets of the DI into some pedals and then record again I have to go into the software for the DI and lower the output volume considerably or the DI blasts the fuck out of the pedals with a signal that is way too hot for them and then all I get is feedback noise... which is fun for a couple of seconds, but becomes annoying when you're trying to put your favourite cowbell through a chorus without it sounding like a DBA fuzz pedal on kill. If that doesn't seem possible, my DI box also has a headphone socket with a volume control on it, and I tend to run that into my pedals more often because I find that easier than mucking about with the software the DI box came with - I just lower the volume on the headphones, plug into pedals and then back into the DI box.

I'm not sure what software you are recording with, but before I got Audition and Ableton and only had Audacity to record with I found I would load the clean guitar recording in VLC, open Audacity to hit record and then press play on VLC. If I had two copies of Audacity open (one playing, one recording) then things usually fucked up in a very loud and feedback fashion... but that might just be my PC which is very old and has personality issues.

Hope that helps, I'm looking forward to hearing more tracks from you!
moid

User avatar
committed
committed
 
Posts: 392
Joined: Sun May 03, 2015 6:35 pm

Re: silent recording

Postby Ugly Nora » Thu Jun 28, 2018 8:55 pm

No worries, moid my young friend. The good doctor had my back, and as i said a few posts back i think the issue was related to not having that routing plugin added to my mixer channel in the DAW. I havent tested it yet, probably Saturday.But i think i should be good to go. Hopefully.

im using Studio One 3.5 by the way. Dont hold your breath for any new recordings anytime soon, but i do thank you for the continued support!
Ugly Nora

User avatar
IAMILFFAMOUS
IAMILFFAMOUS
 
Posts: 3234
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: Shermer, Illinois

Previous

Return to Tech & Recording



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


Sponsored Ad. (Please no inflated/repetitive clicking. Thanks!)

Advertisements help support ILF


ilovefuzz.com is not responsible for user-submitted content. Users participate at their own discretion and risk.