Beyerdynamic TG V35 microphone - any good?

Moderator: Ghost Hip

Beyerdynamic TG V35 microphone - any good?

Postby moid » Wed Sep 13, 2017 6:32 pm

Hello everyone

I recently got a small amount of Amazon vouchers given to me (yay!) which I of course must spend on musical related goodies (well you have to don't you?) and I've been thinking of getting a halfway decent microphone (or at least better than the terrible things I'm currently using) so I could record acoustic guitar and glockenspiel better. I looked through Amazon and Shure microphones are out of my reach (I've got £30 UK to spend), but I can go a little bit over ... and some searching found this Beyerdynamic TG V35 which is £43

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Dynamic-Supercardioid-Microphone-Vocals-Switch/dp/B004XHA3V2/ref=pd_vtph_267_tr_t_2?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1&refRID=VTVEHB2F3W59ZPE8V78C

which I can find a lot of good reviews for on other websites, but I wondered if any of you know if they are any good? I have no experience with microphones beyond the crap SoundLAB ones that I paid £5 for secondhand who record as much hiss as they do signal. I'm not really looking to record vocals, just to record acoustic instruments into my DI box and PC. I've got XLR input for my DI box so that should be OK. Is there any reason why I couldn't run this into an effects pedal (delay and reverb and chorus by choice) before going to the DI box, or does the microphone only have to connect to the DI box to get power correctly? (I know some mics need phantom power, but I can't work out from the tech sheet if this one does too) http://europe.beyerdynamic.com/shop/media//datenblaetter/DAT_TGV35ds_EN_A2.pdf

Thanks for any help
moid

experienced
experienced

Re: Beyerdynamic TG V35 microphone - any good?

Postby actual » Thu Sep 14, 2017 2:49 am