Laney AOR Bros: How do you set your amps?



Re: Laney AOR Bros: How do you set your amps?

Postby maggot » Thu May 28, 2015 1:09 pm

I'm running my AOR 30 from the low input, using fuzz for my distortion. The high input amp overdrive sounds great boosted, but it doesn't clean up well, and I I like to be able to get back to clean/pure fuzz easily. Master likes to be around 4/5, gain no more than 5.

Then I slave an Acoustic 150 and a 4x12 for volume. The thing just isn't that loud without it, so it works well for me. Plenty of headroom. On the regular (not bright) setting, the 150 sounds pretty much exactly like what's coming out of the combo, only a little clearer.

I have backed off the volume by setting my ME-70 below unity in the effects loop, though, for living room playing. It does sound a little fizzy with the master volume too low, and you really need to dial up the master if you're backing off the preamp, or else it will sound weak.
maggot

User avatar
committed
committed
 
Posts: 392
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2014 1:18 am

Re: Laney AOR Bros: How do you set your amps?

Postby tashiattack » Thu May 28, 2015 2:06 pm

HeavyXIII wrote:For some reason with mine, I notice the same thing. I discovered running a volume pedal in the effects loop chomps down on your volume some without fucking the tone up terribly, so you can crank the MV up to a point where it sounds good. That point for me starts around 4. I feel like there was something funky with how they implemented the MV, I just can't recall quite what. I boost mine with a Naga Viper clone and or OCD clone, depending on how saturated I want my sound.


How do you like the Naga Viper? Do you find that it cuts too much low end? I've been interested in trying the NV or a BAT Witch Burner to goose the laney and/or stack with my Sonic Titan. I use a timmy to goose the ST into the low output (sometimes just the timmy into the high output), but I don't get enough sustain using them together - not at least without terrible feedback - because they are both very uncompressed pedals, and I use low-output pups.

Iommic Pope wrote:I have the 6 knob, if that makes a difference.


Yeah, I'm hearing that the 6 knob version sounds a lot better than the 8 knob. I have the latter, but 100w series 1. The issue with me is that the other guitar player in my band uses my Mesa F-100, and he doesn't have to go past 11 or 12 (equivalent of "3-4" on the Laney) on the 60-watt mode, but I have to stay at least 7 or almost max on my laney to keep up with him, no matter what cabs we use. And yeah, theres a huge jump in volume from 5 to 6. When I got it a few months ago, I replaced the tubes...might be just a headroom thing though. Maybe I should experiment with the pre-amp tubes.
tashiattack

User avatar
experienced
experienced
 
Posts: 665
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2010 6:19 pm
Location: Toronto

Re: Laney AOR Bros: How do you set your amps?

Postby HeavyXIII » Thu May 28, 2015 5:36 pm

It's totally a headroom thing with the 30 watts. They actually put out closer to 20-22 watts than 30. I guess 30 just sounded like a better number? A lot of the 20 watt amps that are out now are using a pair of 6V6s, so it seems reasonable to me. Pick up a 50 or 100 watt if you find one. You'll notice the difference QUICK.

I've heard it both ways on the different versions, and now that I've owned each of the head versions I feel that I can weigh in pretty well now. My 8 knobber has all the sounds I could need with or without a pedalboard (it's 50W, so it's a bit quieter). It squeals like a pig when I turn on the AOR boost, no matter what the amp is set to. At this point I don't need it, cranking both gain knobs is more than enough. My 6 knobber was a rescue amp of sorts, in that someone who owned it previously fucked up all the cap values on the EQ, and now half the boosts don't do anything. It's also running 6550s in the power section, but at this point that's not much of a turnoff. It's very clear sounding, and if I had the money to get the additional preamp gain control that some jackass slapped in the back (poorly, I might add; it cuts out half the time) I would do so. They're similar enough that I could live with either, but the 8 knob has that little bit "more" for me. (it's also been unmolested, as far as i can tell)

I really like my Naga Viper. I've been messing with my dirt pedal order, and it's now pushing my OCD instead of just giving a volume bump after it. I like pushing my semi-clean 50W with it, it stays clear but breaks up in a really raw, loose way. At the volume we usually jam at, I don't notice a huge bass loss, but I'm finding myself turning it more towards the full range setting so :idk I don't think I'd pay for a legit Catalinbread one personally though. I got mine from Greyscales on here for like $40.
DISCLAIMER: I only use the high input, and I'm willing to bet I have one of the brighter overall sounds in our room of doom.

TLDR: All AORs is tits, they like dirt boxes, and Japanese snake monster pedals are really rad if you have money.
Good Deal List: bearbeams, pena_55, sonidero, greyscales, ChetMagongalo, xchristophex, Monkey Boy, krautrocker, osbornkt

D.o.S. wrote:Like, I don't just listen to Whores when I'm sitting alone in my room with the lights off staring at a wall. Sometimes I listen to it with the lights on, too.
HeavyXIII

User avatar
experienced
experienced
 
Posts: 881
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2013 3:51 pm

Re: Laney AOR Bros: How do you set your amps?

Postby ShaolinLambKiller » Thu May 28, 2015 7:37 pm

Just wanted to say I can officially take part in this thread. haha. well more so actually read through it more. overall what I dicked around with today I was quite pleased.
I like to keep myself busy:
My loud heavy boxes:
www.facebook.com/MaulerCustomCabs

a ton of my music
http://speedritualrecords.storenvy.com/

and a ton of my ugly art
http://www.cavepaints.com/
ShaolinLambKiller

User avatar
IAMILFFAMOUS
IAMILFFAMOUS
 
Posts: 3733
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2014 8:41 pm
Location: The South

Re: Laney AOR Bros: How do you set your amps?

Postby maggot » Fri May 29, 2015 8:27 pm

I'm happy with the AOR 30 combo because it sounds so good into the Acoustic. It is 22 Watts though. I'm sure they didn't say 22 because it begs comparison to the classic no-headroom Deluxe Reverb (which is still louder than an AOR 30 combo, BTW). But it sounds gigantic if you slave a big, clean amp.
maggot

User avatar
committed
committed
 
Posts: 392
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2014 1:18 am

Re: Laney AOR Bros: How do you set your amps?

Postby ShaolinLambKiller » Fri May 29, 2015 10:07 pm

I like to keep myself busy:
My loud heavy boxes:
www.facebook.com/MaulerCustomCabs

a ton of my music
http://speedritualrecords.storenvy.com/

and a ton of my ugly art
http://www.cavepaints.com/
ShaolinLambKiller

User avatar
IAMILFFAMOUS
IAMILFFAMOUS
 
Posts: 3733
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2014 8:41 pm
Location: The South

Re: Laney AOR Bros: How do you set your amps?

Postby Iommic Pope » Sat May 30, 2015 10:44 pm

ShaolinLambKiller wrote:Just wanted to say I can officially take part in this thread. haha. well more so actually read through it more. overall what I dicked around with today I was quite pleased.

ShaolinLambKiller wrote:

This makes me so happy.

There's a guy locally who has some old Hiwatt tallboys up. A pair for $450.
Makes me wanna forget how broke I am and nab em.

HeavyXIII wrote:DISCLAIMER: I only use the high input, and I'm willing to bet I have one of the brighter overall sounds in our room of doom.

TLDR: All AORs is tits, they like dirt boxes, and Japanese snake monster pedals are really rad if you have money.

Dude, I'd say that I'm in that camp with you.
Dark and woody is nice when other people do it, but I can't make it sound good (which is how I feel about RATs, too).
And yes, they is all tits.
WWPD?
fcknoise wrote:You are all fucking tryhard effort posting nerds

Invisible Man wrote:I'm probably the most humble person I know. I feel good about smelling my own butthole.
Iommic Pope

User avatar
IAMILFFAMOUS
IAMILFFAMOUS
 
Posts: 11140
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 8:41 pm
Location: Frimmin' on the Fram

Re: Laney AOR Bros: How do you set your amps?

Postby ShaolinLambKiller » Sat May 30, 2015 10:50 pm

I say do it and suffer for it later. You'll have the gear and be thrilled in the mean time as you eat boiled water for dinner for a month. it's worth it.

I used my Laney and the new Sovtek I got in to record some sloppy grind ala Repulsion/Impetigo. So taking inventory of what I used.. I basically used 5k worth of equipment to sound like it was only 100 bucks worth.
I like to keep myself busy:
My loud heavy boxes:
www.facebook.com/MaulerCustomCabs

a ton of my music
http://speedritualrecords.storenvy.com/

and a ton of my ugly art
http://www.cavepaints.com/
ShaolinLambKiller

User avatar
IAMILFFAMOUS
IAMILFFAMOUS
 
Posts: 3733
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2014 8:41 pm
Location: The South

Re: Laney AOR Bros: How do you set your amps?

Postby Iommic Pope » Sun May 31, 2015 12:35 am

Haha!
Nice.
Those cabs were unloaded.
Which kind of sucks.
WWPD?
fcknoise wrote:You are all fucking tryhard effort posting nerds

Invisible Man wrote:I'm probably the most humble person I know. I feel good about smelling my own butthole.
Iommic Pope

User avatar
IAMILFFAMOUS
IAMILFFAMOUS
 
Posts: 11140
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 8:41 pm
Location: Frimmin' on the Fram

Re: Laney AOR Bros: How do you set your amps?

Postby ShaolinLambKiller » Sun May 31, 2015 12:47 am

ehhh then fuck on em. stocking them with good speakers would've been the huge investment.
I like to keep myself busy:
My loud heavy boxes:
www.facebook.com/MaulerCustomCabs

a ton of my music
http://speedritualrecords.storenvy.com/

and a ton of my ugly art
http://www.cavepaints.com/
ShaolinLambKiller

User avatar
IAMILFFAMOUS
IAMILFFAMOUS
 
Posts: 3733
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2014 8:41 pm
Location: The South

Re: Laney AOR Bros: How do you set your amps?

Postby willypilgrim » Sun Jun 07, 2015 3:44 pm

Finally joined this board so might as well chime in here:

I like to use the high input. bass dimed, boost pulled. mids dimed, no boost. treble.... usually none. preamp level and preamp 1 and 2 at 6-6-6. presence as needed. It's kinda clean if i play gently, nasty if i add fuzz via abominable hail satan dlx.

AOR is a dope amp. I got my aor50 head w/ a vox cab for like 300 bucks, very happy with the purchase.
willypilgrim

uncommitted
uncommitted
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 2:09 pm

Re: Laney AOR Bros: How do you set your amps?

Postby Iommic Pope » Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:26 am

ShaolinLambKiller wrote:ehhh then fuck on em. stocking them with good speakers would've been the huge investment.

Yeah pretty much.
Yesterday I picked up a crap laney cab for $200 (which is cheap down here). The upshot is that it is hardwood and not particle.
Gonna sell the speakers that are in there to offset the cost and put my sheffields in with some WGS HM75s.
Should be fucking rad after that.
It feels so good to be able to play again.

Welcome Will! And yes, dope amp, indeed.
WWPD?
fcknoise wrote:You are all fucking tryhard effort posting nerds

Invisible Man wrote:I'm probably the most humble person I know. I feel good about smelling my own butthole.
Iommic Pope

User avatar
IAMILFFAMOUS
IAMILFFAMOUS
 
Posts: 11140
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 8:41 pm
Location: Frimmin' on the Fram

Re: Laney AOR Bros: How do you set your amps?

Postby ShaolinLambKiller » Mon Jun 08, 2015 1:07 pm

Very sweet. real wood is always greatness.
I like to keep myself busy:
My loud heavy boxes:
www.facebook.com/MaulerCustomCabs

a ton of my music
http://speedritualrecords.storenvy.com/

and a ton of my ugly art
http://www.cavepaints.com/
ShaolinLambKiller

User avatar
IAMILFFAMOUS
IAMILFFAMOUS
 
Posts: 3733
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2014 8:41 pm
Location: The South

Re: Laney AOR Bros: How do you set your amps?

Postby tashiattack » Tue Jun 09, 2015 12:09 am

I know this is blasphemous, but has anybody modded their AOR?
tashiattack

User avatar
experienced
experienced
 
Posts: 665
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2010 6:19 pm
Location: Toronto

Re: Laney AOR Bros: How do you set your amps?

Postby HeavyXIII » Tue Jun 09, 2015 12:48 am

My 100W was modded when I bought it. Aside from maybe altering the cap values for the push-pull pots or getting better tube sockets, I don't know why you would. Even then, the sockets are only worth it if you have issues keeping your tubes seated.
Good Deal List: bearbeams, pena_55, sonidero, greyscales, ChetMagongalo, xchristophex, Monkey Boy, krautrocker, osbornkt

D.o.S. wrote:Like, I don't just listen to Whores when I'm sitting alone in my room with the lights off staring at a wall. Sometimes I listen to it with the lights on, too.
HeavyXIII

User avatar
experienced
experienced
 
Posts: 881
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2013 3:51 pm

PreviousNext

Return to ilovedoom.org



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


Sponsored Ad. (Please no inflated/repetitive clicking. Thanks!)

Advertisements help support ILF


ilovefuzz.com is not responsible for user-submitted content. Users participate at their own discretion and risk.