Laney AOR Bros: How do you set your amps?



Re: Laney AOR Bros: How do you set your amps?

Postby willypilgrim » Tue Jun 09, 2015 11:25 am

HeavyXIII wrote:My 100W was modded when I bought it. Aside from maybe altering the cap values for the push-pull pots or getting better tube sockets, I don't know why you would. Even then, the sockets are only worth it if you have issues keeping your tubes seated.


I definitely am having tube seating issues. V3 I think. I realized it when i was swapping in different preamp tubes a month or two after i got the aor. If i swapped this mesa boogie tube out of v3, the amp made no noise. Upon putting the mesa back in, the amp works. Any other combination of tube swaps and it was fine. Now, the mesa wiggles itself out of position from the low freq vibrations, at which point it squeeled horribly and i stopped playing the amp.

How hard is the socket replacement? I've done plenty of soldering work but never actually taken apart an amp I owned.
willypilgrim

uncommitted
uncommitted
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 2:09 pm

Re: Laney AOR Bros: How do you set your amps?

Postby ShaolinLambKiller » Tue Jun 09, 2015 1:06 pm

i've done plenty of soldering work and I would still take it to a tech. Rather have someone else to blame than yourself for fucking up.
I like to keep myself busy:
My loud heavy boxes:
www.facebook.com/MaulerCustomCabs

a ton of my music
http://speedritualrecords.storenvy.com/

and a ton of my ugly art
http://www.cavepaints.com/
ShaolinLambKiller

User avatar
IAMILFFAMOUS
IAMILFFAMOUS
 
Posts: 3736
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2014 8:41 pm
Location: The South

Re: Laney AOR Bros: How do you set your amps?

Postby NoLA-Riffft » Sat Jun 13, 2015 12:22 pm

Here's something a local asshole tech told me but he knows his shit when it comes to tube amps.
"Cheap Chinese tubes" tend to have bigger pins than necessary, so if one previous owner or yourself were to drop (or rather slightly force) one of these tubes in and later take it out for a higher quality tube, your socket pin holes might be gaping like your first romantic night in prison.

In short, socket replacement might be your only choice unless you can install some "wired anchors". Either way you should probably let a tech do it and the anchors should cost much less if you can find someone who would do that for ya. I honestly don't even know what they are called or if they sell them. I just know I've seen them in amps before.
Cause smokin' and trippin' is all that you do

VTM60, guitars, pedlz
NoLA-Riffft

User avatar
committed
committed
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 2:01 pm
Location: Deep-Fried, Southern Louisiana

Re: Laney AOR Bros: How do you set your amps?

Postby willypilgrim » Sat Jun 13, 2015 2:33 pm

The aluminum spring cover things? it already has those, doesn't prevent the problem. It's loose enough that wiggling it side to side makes it work or not work. Playing at jam levels produces too much bass for it to stay seated right now and it wiggles loose and then makes a horrible squeel.

I dropped it (and unfortunately, my new bassman that dummy on reverb didn't pull the tubes on before shipping) off at a tech to get tuned up.
willypilgrim

uncommitted
uncommitted
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 2:09 pm

Re: Laney AOR Bros: How do you set your amps?

Postby NoLA-Riffft » Sat Jun 13, 2015 2:47 pm

Good move :thumb:
Cause smokin' and trippin' is all that you do

VTM60, guitars, pedlz
NoLA-Riffft

User avatar
committed
committed
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 2:01 pm
Location: Deep-Fried, Southern Louisiana

Re: Laney AOR Bros: How do you set your amps?

Postby Errant Tiger » Mon Jul 06, 2015 11:34 am

Bumping this thread & also shifting topics slightly because it seems like the Laney folks are all here already... I've got the 30w combo and am wondering if it is theoretically possible to build a footswitch that will activate the pulls on the EQ knobs. If not, can someone explain why not in terms a dummy would understand? Thanks!
Permanently unfinished water music coming from the earth via wood and metal: https://soundcloud.com/erranttiger
Attempts at uncovering a New England Psychedelia: https://www.instagram.com/reticenceband AND https://soundcloud.com/user-913509462/
Cats, dogs, trees, guitars: https://www.instagram.com/errant_tiger/
Errant Tiger

User avatar
committed
committed
 
Posts: 126
Joined: Thu May 21, 2015 10:10 pm
Location: Massachusetts

Re: Laney AOR Bros: How do you set your amps?

Postby Iommic Pope » Mon Jul 06, 2015 8:17 pm

I think in order to activate the values on the pull pots you physically need to pull the pots. The other alternative would, I think, be to route the values differently/separately and have them popped by foot switch, but you're essentially building a second channel then, which may be possible with way too much effort.
Plus it's a 30w, so maybe not worth the hassle?
If it was 100w and you were gigging with it, I could see the point, although an EQ with a boost function would probably do the same thing with way less dick around.
Sorry, I wasn't trying to be a dick and burst your bubble.
WWPD?
fcknoise wrote:You are all fucking tryhard effort posting nerds

Invisible Man wrote:I'm probably the most humble person I know. I feel good about smelling my own butthole.

Jesus Was a Robot wrote:Did you just assume Billy Corgan's dildo preference??
Iommic Pope

User avatar
IAMILFFAMOUS
IAMILFFAMOUS
 
Posts: 11365
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 8:41 pm
Location: Frimmin' on the Fram

Re: Laney AOR Bros: How do you set your amps?

Postby dub » Mon Jul 06, 2015 11:44 pm

The pot is just a switch, so its certainly doable.

I heard the bass boost alters the bias though, flicking it on and off in anger might stress your tubes a bit.
MATAMPS & TRASHED GUITARS
trades: Eric!, johndammit, Holy Schnikes, TheDandy, chatmatt, skullservant, intothegroove, Boxbie, bob the r0bot, sergiomunoz74, Laowiz
dub

User avatar
committed
committed
 
Posts: 405
Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2008 4:23 am
Location: WGTN, NZ

Re: Laney AOR Bros: How do you set your amps?

Postby Errant Tiger » Tue Jul 07, 2015 10:12 am

Thanks guys! Just an idle fancy, no big deal. Taking it into an amp guy soon to get the reverb fixed up, so I'll ask, but all in all is probably not worth it.
Permanently unfinished water music coming from the earth via wood and metal: https://soundcloud.com/erranttiger
Attempts at uncovering a New England Psychedelia: https://www.instagram.com/reticenceband AND https://soundcloud.com/user-913509462/
Cats, dogs, trees, guitars: https://www.instagram.com/errant_tiger/
Errant Tiger

User avatar
committed
committed
 
Posts: 126
Joined: Thu May 21, 2015 10:10 pm
Location: Massachusetts

Previous

Return to ilovedoom.org



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


Sponsored Ad. (Please no inflated/repetitive clicking. Thanks!)

Advertisements help support ILF


ilovefuzz.com is not responsible for user-submitted content. Users participate at their own discretion and risk.