I want to build a guitar, but have no experience doing so

Moderator: Ghost Hip

I want to build a guitar, but have no experience doing so

Postby Benn Roe » Tue Jul 18, 2017 10:42 pm

I've decided to put together a guitar. I've never done anything like it before, and this is about as far as I've gotten in my decision tree so far. I'm a long-time guitarist, but I don't have much technical know-how. What are important things to know? Pitfalls to avoid? I'm not asking for a step-by-step, but if anyone feels they have wisdom to impart, I'm eager to hear it.

I do have one specific question too. What do I need to be looking for in terms of neck and body compatibility? Or, in other words, what are the important dimensions for determining what necks will fit which bodies?
Former Bands: Lazy Gaga, Kadis-kot, Pyramids, In First Person, the Holy Fucking Spirit, Take Down Your Art, A Petal Fallen
Benn Roe

experienced
experienced

Re: I want to build a guitar, but have no experience doing s

Postby kosta » Wed Jul 19, 2017 12:40 am

Build a Tele. The used parts market is very well stocked. (Especially on The Gear Page's classified ads.) It's a great, first, partscaster build project - nice and simple. And also Teles are just great in general.

Filing nuts is hard for most. Doing fretwork is hard for most. Doing the wiring is challenging for some. The learning experience is excellent. I've done a bunch of workshops with the guys at Nazareth Guitar Institute in Nazareth, PA and have learned a TON of stuff. They are excellent. (And I think they have an electric workshop going on this weekend actually....)

https://www.americanarchtop.com/pages/electric-guitar

There are a bunch of good builders here and on other forums. Post pics and questions and people will help you out!

Have fun!
Object Object : Bandcamp | Soundcloud
A lil dreamy, a lil noisy.
kosta

Supporter
Supporter

Postby Kacey Y » Wed Jul 19, 2017 8:11 am