Latching Boss-style square switch?



Moderator: Ghost Hip

Forum rules
The DIY forum is for personal projects (things that are not for sale, not in production), info sharing, peer to peer assistance. No backdoor spamming (DIY posts that are actually advertisements for your business). No clones of in-production pedals. If you have concerns or questions, feel free to PM admin. Thanks so much!

Latching Boss-style square switch?

Postby ratrod » Sun Apr 23, 2017 6:42 am

Anyone know where to find one?

I want to put it in a DD3 so I can take my foot off it while using Hold mode.
ratrod

User avatar
committed
committed
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2014 8:16 pm

Re: Latching Boss-style square switch?

Postby Faldoe » Sun Apr 30, 2017 10:39 pm

I don't think you'll find one to the same specs as the Boss. I think Boss has them made for them. I think you'd either have to drill the enclosure and add a latching hard switch or see if you can order a true bypass relay board - from Mammoth - and just use two of the taps from the board to act as if it were a hard switch.

I'm not sure if the Boss switch is NC or NO but if it is the same spec as what is needed for the relay board you can use the stock Boss switch to trigger the relay board and the stock Dd-3 switch wires will be wired in the relay board.
Faldoe

FAMOUS
FAMOUS
 
Posts: 1991
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2014 10:15 pm

Re: Latching Boss-style square switch?

Postby Jero » Mon May 01, 2017 9:03 pm

Faldoe wrote:I'm not sure if the Boss switch is NC or NO but if it is the same spec as what is needed for the relay board you can use the stock Boss switch to trigger the relay board and the stock Dd-3 switch wires will be wired in the relay board.

This is actually a good idea, worth looking into
Jero

User avatar
IAMILFFAMOUS
IAMILFFAMOUS
 
Posts: 9819
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2010 1:12 am
Location: here

Re: Latching Boss-style square switch?

Postby Dr Satan » Tue May 02, 2017 10:10 am

Going by the schematic, you should be able to just move one wire to get the desired effect. http://www.hobby-hour.com/electronics/s ... ematic.gif

Disconnecting wire 6 from the main board and solder it to the same pad as wire 3 and you should go from "hold to be on" to "press on/press off".
Dr Satan

User avatar
committed
committed
 
Posts: 195
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 4:11 pm
Location: South of the ATL

Re: Latching Boss-style square switch?

Postby Faldoe » Sun May 14, 2017 8:21 pm

Dr Satan wrote:Going by the schematic, you should be able to just move one wire to get the desired effect. http://www.hobby-hour.com/electronics/s ... ematic.gif

Disconnecting wire 6 from the main board and solder it to the same pad as wire 3 and you should go from "hold to be on" to "press on/press off".


Oh man, that is cool. I can't confirm if that will work but definitely worth a try.
Faldoe

FAMOUS
FAMOUS
 
Posts: 1991
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2014 10:15 pm


Return to DIY Effects



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


Sponsored Ad. (Please no inflated/repetitive clicking. Thanks!)

Advertisements help support ILF


ilovefuzz.com is not responsible for user-submitted content. Users participate at their own discretion and risk.