My BYOC experience

Moderator: Ghost Hip

Forum rules
The DIY forum is for personal projects (things that are not for sale, not in production), info sharing, peer to peer assistance. No backdoor spamming (DIY posts that are actually advertisements for your business). No clones of in-production pedals. If you have concerns or questions, feel free to PM admin. Thanks so much!

My BYOC experience

Postby bigchiefbc » Fri Apr 24, 2009 9:29 am

So, I just finished my very first pedal build, a BYOC filter kit. I am a COMPLETE noob. This was literally the first time in my life soldering.

Well, I was getting nervous building this thing, but I have to say, it wasn't that hard, and it worked perfectly first time through! BYOC also sends first-time kit buyers a signal tester and a "confidence booster" circuit free, as practice before trying the real kit.

Getting the PCB populated was very simple. The only difficult part was the wiring to/from the jacks, the AC jack, and the bypass switch. Lot of wires, not much room.

The instructions were fantastically written. The only confusing part for me was that it took me a while to realize that although my pots were not the board-mounted type, the toggle switch WAS. This was realized after I had already wired up the toggle switch. :facepalm: But that was the only time I had to unsolder and redo anything in the entire project.

As for the effect itself, for those not familiar, this is a clone of the DOD 440 envelope filter, except it also has a manual mode where you can set the filter at a fixed frequency. Also, BYOC is cool enough to include extra capacitors for you to mod it for bass frequencies. With that mode, it gets very deep into the bass range. When the filter closes on the decay of your note, you get this bassy "gulping" sound that shakes walls. Pretty badass, I have to say.

Final verdict, BYOC rules. If you've never DIY'ed before, try it. If I was able to do this, so can you.

PIX:

Finished pedal:

Gutshot: