Looper Sync conundrum

Moderator: Ghost Hip

Looper Sync conundrum

Postby Christophe » Thu Jun 21, 2018 8:10 am

Hi fellas.
I'd like to use two amps, with an A/B pedal, with a looper going to each amp. Two separate lines. BUT, I want those two loopers to be in sync.
I was toying with the idea of having two Dittos x4 in sync, but Dittos only have a midi-through, so it's not possible to link them.
To put it differently, I'd like to have a 4-phrase looper, but I'd like to be able to dispatch 2 loops to one amp, 2 other loops to another amp.

How can I do that? Can you sync 2 Pigtronix infinity together? Can I use a midi external tap tempo of some sort and control two Dittos that way? (this has to be a guitar/pedal/amp rig, no computer...)
Is there/what are the options?
All your input is welcome!
Thanks thanks thanks
"It's wrong but it works."
Christophe

committed
committed

Re: Looper Sync conundrum

Postby Paul_C » Thu Jun 21, 2018 8:33 am

I'm not an expert in midi stuff, but a midi clock pedal should do what you want.

Connect the clock to IN on #1 Ditto and then THRU from #1 to IN on #2.
Paul_C

FAMOUS
FAMOUS

Postby Christophe » Thu Jun 21, 2018 8:54 am

Thanks. Well I'm not an expert either... With what you suggest, ditto#2 is a slave to #1? If I press "stop" on #1, will it stop #2?
If I manipulate the in-built fx (like "reverse") on #2, how will #1 behave?
Christophe

committed
committed

Postby Paul_C » Thu Jun 21, 2018 9:51 am

No idea, I'm afraid.

I googled the Ditto X4 manual which says in regard to the midi in & thru connectors "connect an external midi clock to keep your loops perfectly in sync".

The Disaster Area SMARTClock Gen3 Tap Tempo Controller has a list of compatible pedals which includes the Ditto X4.

This suggests to me that the DA Smartclock will send a signal which sets the tempo for the pedal, I assume that the midi thru sends that signal on to whatever else is in the chain, in this case a second X4, and that will sync up too.