Pedal power supply help

Moderator: Ghost Hip

Pedal power supply help

Postby VREEEEVROOOOOW » Sun Feb 11, 2018 7:32 pm

I don't know anything about this stuff…

I have a bunch of pedals that are all using 9v batteries. They've all got DC in, and most of them draw like 20-35mA (except the Distortion+ which draws like 2.4mA or something else ridiculously low like that).

Batteries are expensive. So now I want a pedal power supply.

We're looking at ten pedals. I have six now, and they're all as described above. Additionally I'm getting a volume pedal, a pitch shifting delay of some sort, and one of those BOSS tuners, eventually. Then I'd like to have one more spot, because, knowing me, I'll want more pedals.

So nothing extraordinary here. I'm just a newb.

Anyone have some good suggestions? I'd rather have cheap than convenient, if prioritisation is an issue there.

Pedal board suggestions welcome too.
VREEEEVROOOOOW

experienced
experienced

Re: Pedal power supply help

Postby retinal orbita » Sun Feb 11, 2018 8:12 pm

If you're going to invest in ten pedals I would invest a little extra cash and get an isolated one and treat them right. I used a one spot before and what they say is true. Hum, ground loops, and if you're playing out you run the risk of issues when playing live. I bought a PP2 and it rules. It's been flawless and worked with no issues since I bought it five years ago. And yo could probably buy an isolated brick for cheaper now since there's more on the market.
retinal orbita

IAMILF
IAMILF

Postby UglyCasanova » Sun Feb 11, 2018 11:29 pm

Youp. Never skimp on the power supply. Boring investment, but very important.
UglyCasanova

IAMILFFAMOUS
IAMILFFAMOUS

Postby VREEEEVROOOOOW » Tue Feb 13, 2018 10:44 am